‘GRIT on the Greens’ Supports Wayne Cancer Foundation

Share this:
James Chase, Ethan Wayne and Jarrett Logan. Photos by Randy Seton

A sunny, breathtaking view of the coast off Newport Beach welcomed the sold-out crowd that alighted upon the luxurious Pelican Hill Golf Course to participate in the 2nd Annual GRIT on the Greens Golf Tournament, benefiting John Wayne Cancer Foundation.

Enthusiastic supporters turned out in force and were paired up for the shotgun start/best ball tourney which featured raffle and auction opportunities at each hole.  Golfers enjoyed a gourmet picnic lunch out on the greens, along with an impressive selection of cocktails and other beverage stands interspersed throughout the course.

At the conclusion of the tournament, golfers and guests gathered back at the resort to enjoy a lively cocktail reception, silent auction and outdoor barbeque, as well as live music and an awards ceremony.

Hosted by POSH Events, the event more than doubled in size from its inaugural year, netting more than   $15,000 for the John Wayne Cancer Foundation. GRIT on the Greens continues to grow, and the third annual event is scheduled for April 13, 2013. The event will be a celebrity/pro-am with a pairing party and live auction the evening before.

John Wayne beat lung cancer in 1964. He died 15 years later, after a struggle with cancer of the stomach. During this difficult period, he became passionate about helping others fight this terrible disease. To honor his memory, his family created the John Wayne Cancer Foundation (JWCF) to bring courage, strength and grit to the fight against cancer.

Since its founding in 1985, the JWCF has supported awareness programs, education programs and support groups, and is aligned with like-minded groups and nonprofits that advance the fight against cancer. JWCF has also been committed to groundbreaking cancer research and education at the John Wayne Cancer Institute (JWCI).

For more on the John Wayne Cancer Institute, visit teamduke.org

Special to the Indy from OCSocialScene.com

Luis Ninn, Michelle Kirkwood and John Robinson.
Winners Jeremy Skiver, Tripp Secrist and Erik Woods.


Share this: