Junior Sailors Compete at BCYC

Share this:


By Brian Lichterman | Sports Editor


The host Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club team took the title at the 2010 Corinthian Cup, which has transformed from an “easy stop” on the regatta tour into one of the more competitive events.

BCYC hosted 103 juniors – up from 85 last year – in several different formats and races.  Juniors from yacht clubs all across Southern California competed with local teams and individuals from Balboa Yacht Club, Newport Harbor Yacht Club, Lido Island Yacht Club, and Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club turning out great performances.

The other clubs that competed in the fifth annual event included the Alamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach Yacht Club, Mission Bay Yacht Club, and Corinthian Yacht Club.

Newport Harbor Yacht Club won the team trophy last year, but after stiff competition all weekend, the Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club took back the title.  Eight one-class design vessels were out in the water with sailors ranging in age from 6 to 17.  Although weather threatened the races, the majority of the weekend wasn’t affected, although light winds made racing a bit difficult.

Olympic-style medals were given to the winners along with a pair of sportsmanship awards which were given to Jack Martin of the Balboa Yacht Club and Lauren Simpson of the Lido Island Yacht Club.

Ullman Sails sponsored the free raffle for the event and generously donated lots of prizes for the kids.

The Bahia Corinthian Cup had previously been known as a regatta that was easier for the kids to graduate through and move up to race in higher level events, but this year was filled with much stiffer competition and more contentious action.

“There are no throw outs, and every week counts,” Regatta Chairperson Terese Ivory said.  “It’s real intense and becoming more competitive.  The kids are taking it seriously, and it’s not easy for kids to move up like other regattas.”

Other results from the individual races included Harrison Vandervort and Jack Martin of the BYC winning the CFJ Fleet and Laser Fleet respectively and Sean Segerblom and Joseph Hou of the NHYC winning the Sabot A Fleet and Sabot B Fleet respectively.  Loria Mendiguren of the CYC won the Sabot C-1, Ryan Simpson of the LIYC won the Sabot C-2 Fleet, and Cameron Wood, in only the third race of his career, won the Sabot C-3 Fleet.

Share this: