Midsummer Regatta Dazzles

Share this:

Lido Isle Yacht Club hosted the Midsummer Regatta on Saturday, with sailors from across the bay taking advantage of the amazing weather.

There were seven different fleets with the Sabot C3 class with the most competitors.  The Race Committee held four races with no throw outs.

Davis Hanscom, from Newport Harbor Yacht Club, won the CFJ fleet with only 5 points in four races.  Bennnett Zemke and Grant Duncan, from Lido Isle Yacht Club, were only three points behind in second place.

The Full Rig Laser fleet was dominated by LIYC competitors with John Simpson taking the overall win.  From NHYC, Griffin Holbrook won every race in the Laser Radial fleet, also taking the overall win.

The Sabot A and B fleets were combined for this particular regatta to encourage more competitive racing.  Sabot B sailor Taryn Anderson (NHYC) stole the win from NHYC Sabot A sailor Joseph Hou, with only 6 points.  In the Sabot C1 fleet NHYC sailor Paige Warmington had a consistent regatta, which, in the end, helped her land in first place overall with 20 points.  Caden Wheeler from Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club was only one point out of first, ending up in 2nd.  Due to the lack of discard, Wheeler had to carry a 13th place, adding significant points to the overall score.  Amelia Newett also ended up with 21 points overall, but lost the tiebreaker, resulting in an overall 3rd place.  She scored a win in race three.

With eleven entries in the Sabot C2 fleet, the competition was close.  Ultimately, Dillon Graveline from BCYC swiped first with 12 points overall and a win in race three.  NHYC sailor Rowdie Peets took 2nd overall with only 14 points, and a win in race two.  Finally, in the Sabot C3 fleet, Jonathan Chance from LIYC took it all in the largest fleet.  Chance won with only 11 points and a win in race 3.  Second place sailor Claire Danner from BCYC was solid with 16 points.

LIYC hosted a great regatta with only a few protests involving the race committee and particular courses.

Share this: