Governor’s Cup Lineup Complete

Share this:

The final two sailing teams have been named to compete in this year’s Governor’s Cup international youth match racing event at the Balboa Bay Club, July 17-22.

Will Holz from the Chicago Yacht Club won the 2012 Rose Cup, a U.S. youth national match racing event sanctioned by US Sailing, qualifying him for the Governor’s Cup. The 12th team, recently decided by competition throughout South America, will be led by Santiago Rigoni, representing Club Universitario de Buenos Aires (CUBA).

Nevin Snow, the skipper of the 2011 winning team from San Diego Yacht, will return to race again together with his 2011 crew since all are still eligible. Snow will try to become the eighth two-time winner in Cup history. Last year’s third- and fourth-place teams, Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron and Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club, both from New Zealand, will also be led by returning skippers.

The other seven teams will be the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, Göteborg Kungliga Segelsälskap (Sweden), Mission Bay Yacht Club, Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club (Australia), Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron (Australia), San Francisco Yacht Club and the host Balboa Yacht Club.

Up-to-date information will be available before, during and after the racing at as well as on Gov Cup pages on facebook and twitter.

Share this: