Silver Screen is Golden for Crystal Cove Alliance

Share this:
Sonia and Victor Nichols with Carol and John McDermott.

More than 425 guests turned out for the Crystal Cove Alliance’s 9th Annual Beach Gala: Surf, Sand and the Silver Screen presented by Pelican Hill Resort, raising more than $200,000 for the Alliance.

“It was a spectacular way to commemorate the legacy of Crystal Cove, particularly the Cove’s historic role on Hollywood’s silver screens,” said Laura Davick, CCA founder and president emeritus. “The tremendous support we received Saturday night is critical to allow us to continue to preserve and cultivate our coastal treasure.”

Kathy Helling with Harry Helling.

As guests entered the reception, they were greeted by the Chapman University theatrical group CAST, portraying timeless Hollywood characters. Attendees enjoyed a dinner prepared by the Executive Chefs of Pelican Hill Resort and Montage Laguna Beach. Wayne Foster Entertainment performed period classics such as “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy” to more modern songs like Katy by Perry’s “California Girls.”

Gala proceeds were generated through sponsorships, underwriting, ticket sales, general donations, live auction and a fund a need program.

Among the many notable guests were Honorary Chairs Madeline and James Irvine Swinden, Director of California State Parks Ruth Coleman, The Beachcomber Café founder Doug Cavanaugh, Laguna Beach Mayor Toni Iseman and Newport Beach City Councilwoman Leslie Daigle. Hollywood legend and costal preservation activist, Clint Eastwood, could not attend in person, but his strong presence was felt as the onscreen narrator of a short video played at the beginning of the evening.

Proceeds from the gala traditionally account for 60 to70 percent of CCA’s annual operating budget.  The funds also benefit a new series of education programs—including Arts in the Park, Science and Nature in the Park (SNAP) and Living History—in addition to the preservation of Crystal Cove for future generations.

Photos by Jim McGill

Wylie and Bette Aitken, Honorary Event Committee and sponsors.
Laura Davick, CCA Founder & President Emeritus and Doug Cavanaugh, The Beachcomber Café founder.
Share this: