Charity Spotlight: Balboa Bay Club’s 1221 Club Honors Newport-Mesa Students

Share this:

014 bbcOn May 28, the 1221 Club Scholarship Foundation (the philanthropic arm of Balboa Bay Club) honored the recipients of the 20th annual 1221 Club College Scholarship Awards during a presentation and dinner in the Balboa Bay Resort Grand Ballroom.

This year, 24 outstanding high school seniors from across the Newport-Mesa Unified School District shared more than $150,000 in merit-based scholarship monies, raised by 1221 Club Scholarship Foundation members through various Balboa Bay Club special events.

Since 1994, the 1221 Club Scholarship Foundation has awarded close to $750,000 to more than 250 gifted young men and women enrolled at Corona Del Mar, Newport Harbor, Estancia, and Costa Mesa high schools, in recognition of their exemplary scholastic, athletic, and personal achievements.

“The women of the 1221 Club Scholarship Foundation have taken great pride in giving back to our community by growing our scholarship fund over the past 20015 bbc years,” said club president Carole Pickup. “It’s a real privilege for us to be able to provide significant support to some of the most deserving students as they reach for their dreams.”

Top civic officials, including Newport Beach Mayor Rush Hill, Mayor Pro Tem Ed Selich, and Councilman Keith Curry attended the awards festivities.


2014 Scholarship Award Recipients:


Pinnacle Scholarship — $20,000

Shaun Vetrovec

Ellen Naruse

1221 Club Scholarship — $20,000

John Marco Bruscia

Emily Parsons

Balboa Bay Club Scholarship — $20,000

Logan Whalen

Abigail To

Governor Scholarship — $7,000

Sagang Wee

Marissa Fink

Foundational Scholarship — $1,000

Nikkie Blinn

Persis William-Mensah

Briseida Miranda

Ricardo Herrera

Jesus Acevedo

Thanh Nguyen

Christina Nelson

Kevin Conde

Andrew Hanson

Charles Griffin

Riley Flanagan

Natalie Gerber

Rodrigo Hernandez

Hoan Nguyen

Kimberly Hedges

Daniel Lawerence

Share this: